Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy, SOAS University of London dp27@soas.ac.uk

SCRAP Committee

The SCRAP Committee includes individuals supporting the project

Hugh Beach is currently a member of the board or executive committee of: the Council for Christian Approaches to Defence and Disarmament, the Centre for Defence Studies (King’s College London), the Verification Technology Information Centre (VERTIC), and of the British Pugwash Group.

Sergey Batsanov is the Director of the Geneva Office of Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs. From 1976 till 1989 he worked on the whole range of arms control and disarmament issues in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the USSR; then, in 1989-1993 was the Soviet, then Russian Ambassador to the Conference on Disarmament. During 1993 – 2004 worked in the Hague in the OPCW PrepCom, and then in the OPCW, as the Director for Special Projects.

Matthew Bolton is assistant professor of political science at Pace University in New York City. He has worked as an academic, aid worker and a freelance journalist in 15 countries, including Afghanistan, Bosnia, Haiti, Iraq and South Sudan. Matthew has published widely on issues of conflict, disarmament, humanitarianism and social justice.

Martin Butcher is currently the Policy Adviser on Arms and the Arms Trade Treaty for Oxfam.

Richard Butler AC served as a weapons inspector for the United Nations, as chairman of the United Nations Special Commission (UNSCOM), the UN weapons inspection organisation in Iraq.

Pierce Corden is a visiting scholar at the Centre for Science, Technology and Security Policy, American Association for the Advancement of Science. He served as the director of administration with the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organisation. Before that, he was director of the International Security Negotiations Office in the US State Department’s Arms Control Bureau.

Jayantha Dhanapala is a former United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Disarmament Affairs and a former Ambassador of Sri Lanka to the USA and to the UN Office in Geneva. Dhanapala is Deputy Chairman of the SIPRI Governing Board, and the 11th President of the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs.

Marc Finaud is a Senior Programme Advisor for the Emerging Security Challenges Programme at the Geneva Centre for Security Policy (GCSP) and a Senior Resident Fellow at the United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR). He is a former French diplomat who was seconded to the GCSP in 2004 before becoming a staff member.

Andrew Futter is a Senior Lecturer in International Politics at the University of Leicester, UK, and author of Ballistic missile defence and US national security policy (2013/5); The politics of nuclear weapons (2015); Reassessing the Revolution in Military Affairs (2015) and The United Kingdom and the future of nuclear weapons (forthcoming 2016).

Hector Guerra is the Network Coordinator for the International Action Network on Small Arms (IANSA)

Peter Herby is an Advisor to Norwegian Red Cross and is also an Independent Consultant on Arms Control

Angela Kane is Senior Fellow at the Vienna Centre for Disarmament and Non-Prolifeation and former UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs. Prior to taking up her role in Disarmament Affairs, she served as Under-Secretary-General for Management. She also served as UN Assistant Secretary-General for Political Affairs and as Assistant Secretary-General for General Assembly and Conference Management. Her assignments in the field were as Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General for the United Nations Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea (UNMEE), and postings in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Indonesia and Thailand.

Paul Meyer is Adjunct Professor of International Studies and Fellow in International Security at Simon Fraser University and Senior Fellow, the Simons Foundation.  A former Canadian diplomat, Meyer’s research interests include nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament, outer space security, conflict prevention and cyber security.

Dan Plesch Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy, SOAS,  University of London.

Tariq Rauf is the Director of SIPRI’s Arms Control and Non-proliferation Programme. He was Senior Advisor to the Chair of the 2014 Preparatory Committee for the 2015 Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) Review Conference. From 2012 to 2011 he was Head of the Verification and Security Policy Coordination Office at the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Nick Ritchie researches and teaches in the areas of international relations and international security at the University of York, UK. His particular focus is on nuclear disarmament, proliferation and arms control and US and UK national security.

Felicity Ruby  Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom.

Randy Rydell is a former Senior Political Affairs Officer in the Office of Ms. Angela Kane, the High Representative for Disarmament Affairs at the United Nations.  He served from January 2005 to June 2006 as Senior Counsellor and Report Director of the Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission (Blix Commission) and Senior Fellow at the Arms Control Association in Washington, D.C.  He joined the UN secretariat in 1998, where he has served as an adviser to Under-Secretary-General Jayantha Dhanapala and his successors, Ambassadors Nobuyasu Abe and Nobuaki Tanaka.

Paul Schulte is a non-resident senior associate in the Carnegie Nuclear Policy Program and at Carnegie Europe, where his research focuses on the future of deterrence, nuclear strategy, nuclear non-proliferation, cyber security, and their political implications. Schulte is a Research Associate in the Disarmament and Globalisation Program at theUniversity ofLondon’sSchool ofOriental and African Studies

Oliver Sprague is Programme Director for work on arms control and policing of theUK section of Amnesty International.

The organisational affiliations are given for identification purposes only and does not imply that these organisations necessarily endorse the SCRAP project.